What is reckless driving?

Reckless driving is considered to be any combination of poor driving from traveling at a high rate of speed, to swerving lanes erratically, failing to use your turn signal, and anything that could constitute negligent driving. Generally, high speed alone is not enough to constitute reckless driving. The reckless driving charge in Illinois is a Class A misdemeanor and can be punished by up to 364 days in county jail and/or $2,500 in fines and fees, which does not even include court costs.

Will I receive points on my driving record for reckless driving?

The State of Illinois follows a point system for traffic violations and they can add up from even the most minor cases. This specific violation imposes 1 point to your license. For drivers under the age of 21, even one point can immediately put your license at risk of suspension, while 2 points can put an adult driver, aged 21 and over, at risk of suspension.

Can I get supervision?

There is an opportunity to get court supervision for a reckless driving charge which prevents the charge from being a conviction on your record. The consequence of a supervision on a reckless driving charge is you are no longer supervision eligible for another reckless driving or first DUI charge in your lifetime. If you are a repeat offender, Judges will have no hesitation in putting that Class A conviction on your record and charging you larger fines.

Reckless driving is a serious charge and requires legal representation in order to receive the fairest outcome. Contact Giannola Legal today for a free consultation.